Author Spotlight: An Interview with Tahnee Perry

Hi there, and happy Monday! It’s such a treat to interview authors whose books you love, and today I’m excited to spotlight Tahnee Perry, author of the wonderful new YA dystopian novel The Killing Plot. I recently read this immersive story and was so intrigued by the characters, the world, and the suspenseful mystery.

I want to thank Tahnee Perry for agreeing to the interview. I’m ever so grateful!


Getting to Know Tahnee Perry:

Tahnee Perry grew up in rural Australia with a healthy sense of adventure and a love of books. She currently lives in California with her husband and a cast of imaginary characters waiting for their next appearance. When she isn’t riding horses, she’s building magical worlds and avidly reading books.

Tahnee’s debut novel, The Killing Plot kicks off the Rising Resolution trilogy, an epic dystopian thriller.


Question: I noticed in your bio that you love reading.  Which books do you feel have most influenced your writing?

Tahnee Perry: Yes, I’ve always loved books and stories. I’ve been influenced by so many amazing writers. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, Phillip Pullman’s Dark Materials, Suzanne Collins and The Hunger Games, Leigh Bardugo and her Grisha series and of course JK Rowling and Harry Potter. I’m fascinated by the terrifying worlds of Stephen King and Anne McCaffrey is a master at blending genres. Right now I’m reading a lot of young adult fantasy and sci fi – there are so many good books out there.


Q: What/Who are you currently reading?

TP: How long have you got! I just discovered Holly Black’s Folk of the Air series, which is fun and fast paced. I’m a fan of Naomi Novik’s latest, A Deadly Education. V E Schwab’s The Invisible Life of Addie La Rue is epic and poetic and one of my all-time favorites is Maggie Stiefvater’s, The Scorpio Races.


Q: Do you have any unique or quirky writing habits?

TP: I have conversations in my head with my characters. They’re extremely argumentative.


Q: What is your favorite part of the writing process?

TP: Revising. The hardest part for me is creating the story and then writing it down on a blank page. Once that’s done and I can refine and polish, the process speeds up and I start to have fun.


About The Killing Plot:

Series: The Rising Resolution – Book 1

Page Length: 298

Publication Date: Jan. 2, 2021

Synopsis: A WORLD ON THE BRINK OF EXTINCTION
A GIRL SEARCHING FOR ANSWERS
AN EXPLOSIVE TRUTH

The Killing Plot is a gripping story about the fiercely independent Arela Harkess, a young woman whose relentless quest for answers leads her down a path filled with corruption and treachery.

In the ruins of the world lies Osiris, where the last of humanity survive under a protective dome and political factions struggle for power.

Arela, an orphan since her parent’s mysterious disappearance, is searching for answers. No one in Osiris just vanishes. But with no records of their existence, Arela wonders if something more sinister is at play.

As her search takes her deep within Osiris, she tumbles into a world of greed and manipulation, of political struggle and forbidden love. Her search for the truth is so dangerous, it may get her killed. Or worse.

Arela also finds she must accept who she is and learn to grapple with the strange power she doesn’t yet understand, or she’ll lose everything she’s ever loved, including herself.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, debut author Tahnee Perry has created a breathtakingly original series filled with romance, suspense and a journey of self-discovery.

LINKS:   My Review  Goodreads    |     Amazon    |    Book Depository

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


Q: Can you tell the readers a bit more about The Killing Plot?

TP: The Killing Plot follows seventeen year old Arela Harkess, who’s searching for her missing parents. She lives in Osiris, a city of the world’s last survivors, where breaking the law means exile and everything is meticulously tracked. That’s why she finds it strange there are no records of her parents. No one in Osiris just vanishes. As Arela looks for answers, she stumbles into a world of corruption and greed, discovers she has a strange and unexpected power, and finds herself drawn to the one person she least expects. All while trying to keep herself and her friends alive.


Q: The Killing Plot has such a fascinating and layered dystopian world.  What inspired you to write this story, and how did you develop the setting?

TP: Living in New York City, riding rusting subways underground, being surrounded by looming skyscrapers and lots of concrete inspired the setting and it’s cast of characters. I’m also a huge fan of mysteries and I haven’t seen dystopian authors really tackle this category – so I had to write my own.


Q: If you could describe the protagonist in three words, which words would you choose?

TP: Headstrong, impulsive, loyal


Q: What do you hope readers will take away from your story?

TP: I want to tackle themes my readers find important and worthy. I want them to feel like they can relate to my characters, that they’re experiencing some of the same challenges – how to find their independence, the importance of friendship, navigating a first love, making hard decisions.


Wrap-Up:

Q: Can you tell us anything about your upcoming books?

TP: Book two of The Rising Resolution Series continues with Arela’s journey. She finds herself in an entirely new setting, struggling to find her place, navigating political turmoil and trying to master the unexpected power she discovers in book one. Readers will definitely have some of their burning questions answered in this book!


Q: Where can readers learn more about you and your writings (i.e., website, Twitter, Facebook page, Goodreads, etc.)?

TP: They’ll find a ton of great reviews on Goodreads and Amazon. They can follow my Instagram account @perfectlyprosed and they can sign up for author updates at my website, www.tahneemclarenperry.com.


Thanks again, Tahnee! I can’t wait to read the next book in The Rising Resolution series!!

5 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: An Interview with Tahnee Perry

Leave a Reply to One Book More Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s