Book Review: Shadow of Light by Molly E. Lee

About the Book:

Title: Shadow of Light

Author: Molly E. Lee

Series: Ember of Night #2

Page Length: 400

Publication Date: Nov. 30, 2021

Publisher: Entangled: Teen

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Brigid Kemmerer and Tracy Wolff, the second novel in Molly E. Lee’s angels-and-demons YA series will keep readers turning pages until the very end.

Hell is no trip to Disneyland, but even Harley isn’t prepared for what she meets in each new circle.

With Draven’s twin brother at her side, she takes each new horror face on. Fear isn’t new to her, but the things that slither in this darkness may just ruin her in the end.

The clock is ticking as they try to locate the ancient artifact that will strengthen her powers and help her vanquish the Twelve Greater Demons now wreaking havoc on the world above. The ones she let free in order to save Draven’s life. Now he’s somewhere in this Hell, and if she doesn’t find him or the artifact, she’ll have succeeded in being the best Antichrist ever—and the world will pay for her choices.

With each new obstacle, she and Raiden grow closer, her soul torn in two as they search for his brother.

Each step gained feels like two steps back in this hell-hole, but the deeper they go, the more she feels her powers grow. The world above is at stake, but down here? Nothing is as it seems.

With Raiden at her side, Draven in her heart, and an artifact that will decide her fate, Harley will have to face every dark piece of her soul in order to get them all out of there alive. 

LINKS:     Goodreads    |      Amazon    |    

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


My Review:

A YA fantasy of sisterhood, family, and the lengths you’ll go to save the ones you love, Shadow of Light has tons of intense, heart-pounding action, surprising revelations, and immersive and vivid world-building. The story is so immersive and intriguing, and it sucked me right in. The characters and world-building are dynamic and intriguing, and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened, especially after the ending of the first book! Plus, there’s the romance!

The book picks up where Ember of Night left off. Determined to kill the demon who has possessed her beloved younger sister, Hayley journeys to Hell with her sister Ray, Draven, and others by her side. As they travel through the different circles of Hell, they must face demons, the ever-present threat of the Twelve Greater Demons, and many other obstacles before they can break the tether that ties Ray to the evil demon that possesses her.

This is a great continuation of the series, and the author creates such a unique, vivid, and frighteningly dangerous world. I was captivated by each new setting that Harley and the others travel to. They are intriguing and dangerous, and you never know what might happen in each new place that they go to. Danger comes from every direction for Harley, and there is a building sense of urgency surrounding her quest. It makes for a super intense and suspenseful read.

Harley grows a lot throughout her journey, and she learns so much about her powers. I enjoyed seeing her become more self-aware, stronger, and she never loses her sense of humor or her sarcastic wit. She also cares deeply and will do anything for those she loves. Harley’s love for Ray is what propels her throughout the series, and their relationship is wonderful. I love Ray! She always has such a positive attitude and tries to see the good in everyone. She is a strong foil to Harley, who is a bit more jaded and cynical.

I also love the found family aspect of the story, and it’s really powerful when they are referred to as Harley’s tribe. In the midst of the danger and chaos, Harley has found her people, and that is a wonderful thing. Old characters and new become close and aid Harley in her quest, and their growth as a unit adds an interesting layer to the story. I’m curious to see how these relationships grow and change as the story continues. I’m particularly intrigued by a character who has minor but significant role in the story. He doesn’t actually go on the quest with Harley and the others, but he has a unique connection to her. I have a feeling he might have a larger role in the story, and I’m eager to learn more about this intriguing character.

Of course, I have to talk about the romance because it is swoon-tastic! Harley and Draven are a team, and they are so good together. Their relationship is not without conflict. They don’t always agree, and both make mistakes, but their bond is strong and continues to strengthen in this story. There are some wonderfully tender moments that show just how deeply this couple cares for one another, and I think they both open up more about their feelings, which is lovely. This relationship has come a long way, and I have a feeling it will continue to face challenges and grow as the series continues.

Shadow of Light is a fast-paced, action-packed addition to the series, and I enjoyed every nail-biting second of it. An immersive read with great messages and characters (plus an awesome romance!), this is a great read for lovers of YA fantasy. I would recommend reading the first book in the series before you read this one, as it is not really a standalone. Thanks so much to NetGalley, Entangled Teen, and Molly E. Lee for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review. I’m loving this series and can’t wait to see what happens next in Harley’s journey!


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The world-building.
  • The romance.
  • The found family.

Favorite Lines:

I saw your heart, your spirit, your unrelenting strength…I knew after one day with you that I’d never be able to harm you. I didn’t care what it cost me.

You’d think being the Antichrist I’d have some kind of pass on the whole needing-sleep thing.

Recommendations:

Want to learn more about the series? Check out my review of the first book!

One thought on “Book Review: Shadow of Light by Molly E. Lee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s