Author Spotlight: My Interview with Tahnee Perry

I’m delighted to have author Tahnee Perry on the blog today. Tahnee is the author of the YA dystopian series The Rising Resolution, and the second book, The Rising, just released last month. This is a great dystopian series and perfect for readers who enjoyed The Hunger Games or Divergent.


Getting to Know You:

Tahnee Perry grew up in rural Australia with a healthy sense of adventure and a love of books. She currently lives in California with her husband and a cast of imaginary characters waiting for their next appearance. When she isn’t riding horses, she’s building magical worlds and avidly reading books.


Question: What inspired you to become a writer?

Tahnee Perry: I’ve always loved books and the magical worlds they contain. I bound, illustrated and wrote my first book in third grade using an entire pad of legal paper and a box of staplers. I don’t even think the edges lined up straight, but it was my pride and joy. Which is a way of saying I don’t know what inspired me to be a writer, I just always knew. From the minute I got my hands on a my first book, I wanted to be immersed in stories either by reading or writing them.


Q: What books are currently on your bedside table?

TP: I’m never just reading one, so there’s a few: A Winter’s Promise, by Christelle Dabos – I’ve always been intrigued by floating citadels and political intrigue, A Sorcery of Thorns, by Margaret Rogerson – it was recommended by so many of my readers, Dune, by Frank Herbert – I was inspired to read it again after seeing the movie and of course a dystopian, We Set the Dark on Fire, by Tehlor Kay Mejia.


Q: Other than reading and writing, what are some of your other favorite things to do? 

TP: Is there anything else?! Reading and writing are my favorite things to do, but I recently took up watercolor, which is a nice way to wrap up the day. I’m not going to win any art awards, but I’ve made some lovely cards I can send to friends and family.


Q: If you had to live in a literary dystopian world, which one would you choose and why?

TP: Can I choose the Osiris Underbelly or is that cheating? You can be anyone you want to be in the Underbelly and I’ve always wanted to own a Zebra costume. If I can’t choose Osiris then the Hunger Games Capitol, Panem. I would either be Effie Trinket or Caeser Flickerman. I think pink hair would really suit me.


About the Book/Series:

Q: Can you tell readers a little about the series and the world you created?

TP: The Rising Resolution series is set in Osiris, a city of humanity’s last survivors. This dystopian world is set in the not-too-distant future where a totalitarian government keeps tight control of its citizens and battles against insurgents. Here, the fierce and independent Arela, is on a mission to find her missing parents, but she gets tangled up in a political struggle for power and branded as a traitor. There’s mystery and romance, a lot of great fight scenes and of course Arela, finding ingenious ways of escaping sticky situations.


The Killing Plot Synopsis: A WORLD ON THE BRINK OF EXTINCTION
A GIRL SEARCHING FOR ANSWERS
AN EXPLOSIVE TRUTH

The Killing Plot is a gripping story about the fiercely independent Arela Harkess, a young woman whose relentless quest for answers leads her down a path filled with corruption and treachery.

In the ruins of the world lies Osiris, where the last of humanity survive under a protective dome and political factions struggle for power.

Arela, an orphan since her parent’s mysterious disappearance, is searching for answers. No one in Osiris just vanishes. But with no records of their existence, Arela wonders if something more sinister is at play.

As her search takes her deep within Osiris, she tumbles into a world of greed and manipulation, of political struggle and forbidden love. Her search for the truth is so dangerous, it may get her killed. Or worse.

Arela also finds she must accept who she is and learn to grapple with the strange power she doesn’t yet understand, or she’ll lose everything she’s ever loved, including herself.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, debut author Tahnee Perry has created a breathtakingly original series filled with romance, suspense and a journey of self-discovery.

LINKS:   My Review  Goodreads    |     Amazon    |    Book Depository

The Rising Synopsis: The highly anticipated and thrilling sequel to The Killing Plot.

Snatched from exile and certain death, Arela finds herself trapped with the people she’s been raised to renounce – a band of revolutionaries determined to topple Osiris’s dictator. She didn’t ask to be saved and she’s desperate to escape from her captors, but they won’t let her leave – they see her as a symbol of their rebellion and their secret weapon.

All Arela wants to do is rescue her friends from a lunatic and murderer – a man willing to sacrifice anything in his quest for unbridled power. But first she needs to control her strange power and unravel the mystery of her missing parents.

As she navigates her new world, danger lurks around every corner, and she soon finds herself fighting for her life, even as she’s drawn to the one person she should avoid, someone with the power to betray her.

Arela has important decisions to make. Decisions that will decide the fate of an entire people. Should she support the revolutionaries? Can she risk everything to save her friends? And who is she meant to love? The boy she was forced to leave behind or the one who knows all her secrets?

LINKS:   Goodreads   |    Amazon | My Review


Q: What inspired you to write The Rising Resolution series?

TP: I was living in Brooklyn New York, riding the subway every day. The grittiness of the underground tunnels, those flickering over head lights – it created such a strong sense of the world, I was compelled to write the story.


Q: Can you share your favorite scene or chapter from the book?

TP: I’m a sucker for two things: a thrilling escape and a good romance. I still get shivers reading about Arela’s struggle through the flooded corridors and all swoony over Harlow and Arela’s dance scene – it really should have been their first kiss!


Q: Which character in the book do you think you’d most get along with?

TP: Do I have to pick one? I love all of the characters, but if I had to pick then Jacobo would probably be the most fun to hang out with. He’s very rarely serious and enthusiastic about everything.


Q: If you were to write a spin-off about a secondary character, who would you choose and why?

TP: Oh, this is a tough one! I’d love to explore Harlow’s back story. What was it like growing up in the underground? How did his parents and the political pressures influence who is he today? Bastet is another fascinating character – she’s a woman of color with strong beliefs – I feel like she has so much more to say.


Wrap-Up

Q: Can you give us any hints on what to expect in the third book?

TP: Well, you know I left you all with another cliff hanger – I couldn’t help it! But sorry, no giveaways on that. I will say, life gets harder for Arela – more challenges, more danger and a future that hangs in the balance, plus she’ll have a lot of decisions to make.


Thanks again, Tahnee, for taking the time to answer my questions. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series and find out what difficulties are in store for Arela and her friends!

4 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: My Interview with Tahnee Perry

Leave a Reply to Obong eno Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s