Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Physicists’ Daughter by Mary Anna Evans

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme to spotlight a future release that you’re excited about. It’s hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.


This week’s anticipated book is:

The Physicists’ Daughter by Mary Anna Evans

The book is described as a fascinating and intelligent WWII home front story that is perfect for fans of The Alice Network and Kate Quinn, and the novel explores the role of women on the home front and delivers a plot full of intrigue and espionage with female friendship and a touch of romance.


About the Book:

Title: The Physicists’ Daughter

Author: Mary Anna Evans

Page Length: 272

Publication Date: June 7, 2022

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

Synopsis: New Orleans, 1944

Sabotage. That’s the word on factory worker Justine Byrne’s mind as she is repeatedly called to weld machine parts that keep failing with no clear cause. Could someone inside the secretive Carbon Division be deliberately undermining the factory’s war efforts? Raised by her late parents to think logically, she also can’t help wondering just what the oddly shaped carbon gadgets she assembles day after day have to do with the boats the factory builds…

When a crane inexplicably crashes to the factory floor, leaving a woman dead, Justine can no longer ignore her nagging fear that German spies are at work within the building, trying to put the factory and its workers out of commission. Unable to trust anyone—not the charming men vying for her attention, not her unpleasant boss, and not even the women who work beside her—Justine draws on the legacy of her unconventional upbringing to keep her division running and protect her coworkers, her country, and herself from a war that is suddenly very close to home.

LINKS:   Goodreads   |    Amazon

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


Which books are you excited for? Comment below!

7 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Physicists’ Daughter by Mary Anna Evans

Leave a Reply to Carla Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s