First Lines Friday: May 28, 2021

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is first-lines-friday.jpg

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

First Lines:

Once she stole this jerk’s third wish, Nadia swore she would never invite another surgeon into her counseling office. She’d heard they could be egotistical butchers, treating their patients as little more than pounds of flesh on a table, but she’d always dismissed that stereotype-until she met Dr. Fitzpatrick. Not the Nadia claimed to be a paragon of virtue herself, but at least when clients left her office, they had all the pieces they’d come in with. As far as they knew, anyway.


Do you recognize the lines?

Hint: It’s the first book in a new urban fantasy series.

Still not sure? Here’s another hint: 

It’s written by Hero Bowen and Jordan Riley Swan


The First Lines Friday book is:

Wish Hunter


About the Book:

Title: Wish Hunter

Author: Jordan Riley Swan and Hero Bowen

Series: The Savannah River Series #1

Page Length: 350

Publication Date: June 1, 2021

Publisher:

Synopsis: Explore the dark underworld of wish hunting in the compelling first installment of this urban fantasy trilogy set in Savannah, Georgia—perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and V. E. Schwab.

Nadia Kaminski’s family has stolen wishes for generations, auctioning them off to skeevy business tycoons and politicians in back-alley deals. Their operation is simple enough. Find someone who gained a wish after saving a life. Trick the wisher into sharing a deep secret. Steal the wish.

And as a marriage counselor, Nadia has more access to people’s secrets than most.

But when Nadia comes across the perfect opportunity to steal a wish for herself, she takes it—and the rock star she’s stolen it from desperately wants his wish back.

As Nadia tries to figure out how to get rid of the cocky thorn in her side, she must face off against vengeful wish hunters, her all-too-powerful family, and the consequences of her own desires—because stealing wishes can be a deadly affair. 

LINKS:     Goodreads    |      Amazon 


Are you excited to read this one? What do you think of the first lines? Comment below!

8 thoughts on “First Lines Friday: May 28, 2021

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s