First Lines Friday: June 23, 2023

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

First Lines:

They say summer storms in Caraza brings more than rain. When lightning crackles across the sky and the air gets thick to chew, it means trouble isn’t far behind.


Do you recognize the lines?

Here’s a hint:

 It’s a new YA fantasy.

Still not sure? Here’s another hint: 

It’s written by Katy Rose Pool.


The First Lines Friday book is:

Garden of the Cursed


About the Book:

Title: Garden of the Cursed

Author: Katy Rose Pool

Series: Garden of the Cursed #1

Page Length:

Publication Date: June 20, 2023

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. 

GENRES: YA fantasy, mystery

SynopsisIn this thrilling YA fantasy/mystery duology from award-winning author Katy Pool, cursebreaker Marlow Briggs reluctantly pretends to be in love with one of the most powerful nobles in Caraza City to gain entry into an illustrious—and deadly—society that holds clues to her mother’s disappearance. Perfect for fans of Veronica MarsThese Violent Delights, and Chain of Iron.

Since fleeing the gilded halls of Evergarden for the muck-filled canals of the Marshes, Marlow Briggs has made a name for herself as the best godsdamn cursebreaker in Caraza City. But no matter how many cases she solves, she is still haunted by the mystery of her mother’s disappearance.

When Adrius Falcrest, Marlow’s old friend and scion of one of Caraza’s most affluent spell-making families, asks her to help break a life-threatening curse, Marlow wants nothing to do with the boy who spurned her a year ago. But a new lead in her mother’s case makes Marlow realize that the only way to get the answers she desperately seeks is to help Adrius and return to Evergarden society—even if it means suffering through a fake love affair with him to avoid drawing suspicion from the conniving Five Families.

As the investigation draws Marlow into a web of deadly secrets and powerful enemies, a shocking truth emerges: Adrius’s curse and her mother’s disappearance may just be clues to an even larger mystery, one that could unravel the very foundations of Caraza and magic itself.

LINKS:   Goodreads   |    Amazon  | Review


Did you guess the book? What do you think of the first lines? Comment below!

4 thoughts on “First Lines Friday: June 23, 2023

Leave a Reply