Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’d Like to Start

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week, the topic is Series I’d Like to Start/Finish/Catch Up On, so I decided to go with series I’d like to start. I know I have a huge TBR, so I went right to Goodreads and found 10 fantasy/sci fi series that have been on there a while. If anyone’s looking to do a buddy read for any of these, let me know! lol


1. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.


2. The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, this enthralling fantasy adventure follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.



3. Skyhunter by Marie Lu

In a world broken by war, a team of young warriors is willing to sacrifice everything to save what they love.


4. Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

A funny, fast-paced, and romance-dashed nautical fantasy, set in an alternate world of pirates, sirens, and myriad islands. Alosa, the 17-year-old daughter of an infamous pirate king, embarks on a dangerous undercover mission, allowing herself to be captured by a rival crew in order to retrieve part of a legendary treasure map.” 


5. Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Two sisters.
One brutal murder.
A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…
And an intoxicating romance.


6. The Greene Bone Saga

JADE CITY is a gripping Godfather-esque saga of intergenerational blood feuds, vicious politics, magic, and kungfu.



7. The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.


8. Ash Princess Trilogy by Laura Sebastian

The New York Times bestselling series “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.


9. Camelot Rising by Kiersten White

A fantasy series set in the world of Camelot that bestselling author Christina Lauren calls brilliant, reimagining the Arthurian legend . . . where nothing is as magical and terrifying as a girl.


10. Defy the Night by Brigid Kemmerer

From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series about a kingdom divided by corruption, the prince desperately holding it together, and the girl who will risk everything to bring it crashing down.


Have you read any of these? Which would you recommend? Are any of these on your TBR? Comment below!

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’d Like to Start

      1. I think that Babel is better. I got a bit bored with Poppy War as it seemed to be the same thing over and over. I suppose Babel might be like that by the time she gets to book 3 though 😃

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve been thinking of doing a re-read of Tahir’s series so that I can finally finish it. You’ve also reminded me that I need to continue on with The Kinder Poison series! I read the first book when it came out and loved it but it was ages ago so will probs have to do a re-read of that before continuing on as well. And you know I’ve got TPW on my list as well 😂 After our Babel BR I’m scared for what Kuang’s gonna do to us in this trilogy 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooo The Kinder Poison – I love Holly Black so this might interest me. Daughter of the Pirate King series is on my TBR, as is Kingdom of the Wicked. Here is The Poppy War again…thinking this one needs to be added.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great choices! I read An Ember in the Ashes, which prompted me to buy the rest of the series, but I’ve yet to read it. It’s definitely one I’ll finish. Books rarely stick with me, but that one has! I also want to read The Greene Bone Saga. I’ve heard only good things about that one. I hope you can get to some of these soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s