Book Review: The Killing Plot by Tahnee Perry

About the Book:

Title: The Killing Plot

Author: Tahnee Perry

Series: The Rising Resolution – Book 1

Page Length: 298

Publication Date: Jan. 2, 2021

Synopsis: A WORLD ON THE BRINK OF EXTINCTION
A GIRL SEARCHING FOR ANSWERS
AN EXPLOSIVE TRUTH

The Killing Plot is a gripping story about the fiercely independent Arela Harkess, a young woman whose relentless quest for answers leads her down a path filled with corruption and treachery.

In the ruins of the world lies Osiris, where the last of humanity survive under a protective dome and political factions struggle for power.

Arela, an orphan since her parent’s mysterious disappearance, is searching for answers. No one in Osiris just vanishes. But with no records of their existence, Arela wonders if something more sinister is at play.

As her search takes her deep within Osiris, she tumbles into a world of greed and manipulation, of political struggle and forbidden love. Her search for the truth is so dangerous, it may get her killed. Or worse.

Arela also finds she must accept who she is and learn to grapple with the strange power she doesn’t yet understand, or she’ll lose everything she’s ever loved, including herself.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, debut author Tahnee Perry has created a breathtakingly original series filled with romance, suspense and a journey of self-discovery.

LINKS:     Goodreads    |       Amazon    |      Book Depository

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


My Review:

An immersive and captivating dystopian novel, The Killing Plot is the story of Arela, a rebellious and intelligent young woman who wants to find out why kids are disappearing from the orphanage in which she lives. With the help of friends and a possible love interest, Arela begins to uncover a shocking and disturbing secret, one that reaches the top of their government. The more Arela uncovers, the more dangerous her world becomes, but Arela won’t rest until she learns the truth of Osiris and its missing orphans.

Arela is a fantastic protagonist with a great blend of rebelliousness, intellect, impulsivity, good intentions, and recklessness. I like that she persists and never gives up on her goals and the people she cares about. She also sees through the utopian facade of Osiris and the leaders who perpetuate the dystopian world.

I also love the found family between Arela and her three best friends. Parentless, they all live in the same orphanage, and they look out for, support, and encourage each other. They have such distinct and unique personalities, and I love their easy and funny banter as well as their strong bond. They are different in their approaches to life and their views on society, but that doesn’t interfere with the respect and love they have for each other.

Cenric is another interesting character who is similar to Arela and her friends. Though he has parents, their absence and his subsequent loneliness and feelings of abandonment are evident. Unlike Arela and her friends, Cenric has a more solitary life and seems to avoid situations where he could develop relationships. That is until he meets Arela.

We are all lonely in our own way.

Cenric and Arela have an instant connection that only grows as the story progresses. This enemies-to-lovers, forbidden love relationship is full of obstacles, mystery, and angst. Cenric is the son of the leaders of Osiris, and Arela is an orphan. This puts them on opposite ends of the social ladder and leads to a secret relationship.

Cenric and Arela’s views on society also contrast, which causes a bit of tension in their budding relationship. Cenric’s indoctrinated views stand in sharp contrast to Arela’s, and it is interesting to see her open Cenric’s eyes to the mistruths and the harsh realities of Osiris. However, Cenric isn’t as naive as he seems. Cenric is also very secretive, and the pair struggles with trusting and opening up to each other. This is for good reason since Osiris is intolerant to dissension or deviation from the norm.

I enjoyed the dystopian elements in the story which include disenfranchised people, and an oppressed society with total governmental control, harsh rules and punishments, a fear of the world outside of Osiris, and a lack of individuality. The story is filled with mystery, morally grey characters, and you never know who to trust, especially considering how many people manipulate the system for their own personal gain.

There are also some supernatural elements in the story that intrigued me. Arela, for example, develops a unique power that is exacerbated by emotions. I’m curious how this newfound power ties into her parentage, her past, and her future. I think it also relates to Osiris and the world beyond. What is beyond the walls of Osiris? Does anyone else have these powers? I can’t wait to learn more in the next book! Thanks so much to NetGalley and Tahnee Perry for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The characters. They are interesting and dynamic!
  • The dystopian world. I can’t wait to learn more about it in the next books!

Favorite Lines:

There’s always something you can do…You just have to choose to do it.

Violence is violence, regardless of the end goal.

Recommendations:

This is a great story for readers who enjoy young adult dystopian novels!!

8 thoughts on “Book Review: The Killing Plot by Tahnee Perry

  1. Great review, Julie! I’d never heard of this one but the found family + enemies-to-lovers romance tropes are some of my favourites so my interest is piqued. Might keep this one on my radar if I’m looking for a YA dystopian 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s