ARC Review: Shadow Touched by Becky Moynihan

About the Book:

Title: Shadow Touched

Author: Becky Moynihan

Series: A Touch of Vampire #1

Page Length: 359

Publication Date: May 11, 2021

Publisher: Broken Books

Synopsis: Some truths are best kept in the shadows…

At nearly eighteen, I’m months away from escaping my aunt’s secrets and lies. Except, I’m harboring a big secret of my own.

A red-eyed man cloaked in shadow has been stalking me at night.

I wanted Rosewood, Maine to be my final destination before college. My chance at normalcy. But strange, unexplainable things are threatening to derail my plans.

The red-eyed man followed me here, and he’s not the only one. Two hot guys transfer to my new high school right after I do. They track my every move, especially the aloof and mysterious Lochlan D’angelo.

As I’m sucked into a dangerous world embroiled in secrets, I start to question everything I’ve ever known. Including who I am.

Fans of Twilight, Vampire Diaries, and modern Beauty & the Beast retellings, sink your teeth into a world of dark mystery and forbidden desire. SHADOW TOUCHED is the thrilling first installment in a steamy upper YA/NA paranormal vampire romance series. If you like enemies-to-lovers and fated mates, heartrending twists, a tough heroine, and a sexy antihero, this book is for you. 

LINKS:     Goodreads    |      Amazon   

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


My Review:

Kenna has been raised by her aunt and moves around a lot. When she moves to Rosewood, Maine, Kenna hopes that this might be a more permanent place to live. All she really wants a place where she fits in, where she can stay a while, and where it feels like home. Kenna enters school and makes a new best fried, and everything seems to fall into place. She even begins to fall for someone. However, secrets that have been kept from her for her entire life begin to surface, and a supernatural world that she’s never known becomes a reality, especially since an ominous presence called Shadow Man seems to stalk her. As she learns the secrets of her past and of Rosewood, she must reevaluate all she knows.’

The description for this book says it will appeal to readers who like Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Beauty and the Beast retellings, and I think that is a perfect explanation of the novel. This story has everything – romance, secrets, lies, betrayal, BFFs, vampires, witches, and more. It starts off a little slow, but once the pace picks up, it is filled with action and suspense. Twists and turns abound, especially as secrets and lies are revealed.

Mckenna or Kenna is a great protagonist. She is strong, loyal, and brave, and I love her determination. She’s a trustworthy friend and someone who longs to belong. She never stayed in one place for too long when she lived with her aunt, as her aunt had them hopping from place to place with no explanation. Kenna is tired of her aunt’s paranoid ways, and her desire for stability and to put down roots is strong. For some reason, Rosewood feels like home to her. Kenna feels a connection to the town but is unsure why. Throughout the story, she slowly learns how she is connected to the town. She shows such bravery when confronted with danger and a darkness that she never knew existed.

The other characters in the story are well-developed too. Isla, Lachlan, Kade, and others all bring different things to the table. I love Isla and think she is a great best-friend to Kenna. She’s funny and supportive and the type of friend many wish for. Lachlan and Kade are opposites and are great foils to each other. Vampires, witches, and werewolves also have a part to play in this paranormal romance, and I am totally here for it! I’m hoping that we’ll learn more about these characters in future books in the series.

The romance is steamy and everything you’d expect in a vampire romance. Kenna’s connection with her love interest is strong, and their spicy scenes are HOT. Like, get-a-fan-because-you’re-going-to-need-it-when-reading-it-HOT! And that cliffhanger! Oh my word! I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

This is a great read for people who like super swoon-worthy, upper YA or NA paranormal romance and/or urban fantasies. Thanks so much to the author for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • Kenna. She’s a great protagonist!
  • The romance! Holy hotness, Batman!!!

Recommendations:

This is a great book for readers who like:

  • ya/na paranormal romance
  • fated mates
  • enemies-to-lovers romance
  • Twilight and/or The Vampire Diaries

10 thoughts on “ARC Review: Shadow Touched by Becky Moynihan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s