ARC Review: The Highlander’s English Bride by Vanessa Kelly

Title: The Highlander’s English Bride

Author: Vanessa Kelly

Series: Clan Kendrick (#3)

Page Length: 448

Publication Date: May 26, 2020

Publisher: Zebra

Synopsis: Lady Sabrina Bell has never been so embarrassed in her life. Not only did her new suitor fail to appear for their morning rendezvous in Hyde Park, but a thief pushed her into the Serpentine. Being rescued by a burly Highlander just adds to her humiliation. Nor is he content with rescuing her just once. Even when Sabrina travels to Edinburgh as part of King George’s entourage, Graeme Kendrick is there, interfering, exasperating, and so very tempting…

Once notorious for being the most unruly Kendrick brother, Graeme now runs dangerous missions for the King’s spymaster. Yet nothing has prepared him for Sabrina. The only child of a wealthy earl, and the pampered goddaughter of the king himself, she is stubborn, impetuous, and far too good for him. He doesn’t deserve her, but he can protect her and then send her safely back home. But the bonny Sassenach has her own ideas—and a plan for seduction that no red-blooded Highlander could resist…

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


My Review:

The Highlander’s English Bride is the third book in the Clan Kendrick Series. Though it is part of a series, the book can be read as a standalone. The story focuses on Graeme and Sabrina.

Lady Sabrina Bell is a fiercely independent only child of a wealthy Earl and a favored goddaughter of the king. Sabrina is also a trouble magnet. An astute and intelligent woman who is also quite naive, Sabrina’s staunch belief in justice and honor, at times, puts her in potentially dangerous, and socially inappropriate, situations. Luckily, Graeme Kendrick is used to trouble.

As a spy, Greame’s been in all kinds of perilous situations. Of course, none come close to the danger he has of losing his heart to the feisty and intelligent Sabrina. As Graeme works to expose a criminal, he quickly realizes that Sabrina complicates his work. As he is trying to prove himself to his family (and to himself), he tries to fight his feelings for the beautiful and frustrating Sabrina.

The couple has fabulous chemistry from the start. They challenge each other in the best possible ways. Graeme, a serious man, is continually exasperated with Sabrina, much to her interest and occasional delight. I love their quick and humorous banter, their developing romance, and all of their sexual chemistry!

This is a great historical romance with an interesting plot and well-developed characters. A combination of romance, suspense, action, and humor, this story is entertaining from start to finish. Thanks to Netgalley for an ARC of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The romance, of course! 😉
  • The dialogue. I found the dialogue to be quick-witted, smart, and interesting. The author has a knack of skillfully using dialogue to enhance the story.
  • The array of strong women.

Recommendations:

Readers of historical romance and highlander romance will love this story. Fans of Kiera Montclair and Heather McCollum will love this book.

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Highlander’s English Bride by Vanessa Kelly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s