ARC Review: Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay by Katie Ginger

Title: Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay

Author: Katie Ginger

Series: Swallowtail Bay – Book 3

Page Length: 384

Publication Date: Oct. 7, 2020

Publisher: HQ Digital

Synopsis: Grab your cosiest jumper and escape to the beautiful Swallowtail Bay!

Christmas and romance are in the air and Nell is obsessed! She can’t stop watching her favourite Christmas romcoms and dreaming of the day when she meets her own romantic hero, especially as she is hosting the first ever wedding at her small hotel, Holly Lodge.

Nell’s best friend, Tom, has been in love with her ever since they met. But Nell has never seen him that way, and he’s always kept his feelings a secret in case it ruins their friendship.

After the opening of the glamorous Langdon Mansion Hotel in the bay, Nell’s hotel is struggling for survival and she must fight, with Tom’s help, to keep Holly Lodge open. Can the magic of Christmas help two old friends save Holly Lodge and open Nell’s eyes to a love that was always there the whole time?

Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay is the hilarious new romantic comedy from Katie Ginger, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Veronica Henry and Holly Martin!

LINKS:     Goodreads    |       Amazon     |     Book Depository


Review:

A heart-warming Christmas romance, Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay is the story of Nell, a woman whose hotel is struggling since a more upscale hotel moved into town. Determined that her friend will have a wonderful wedding at the hotel, Nell embraces the holidays and the task. However, can Nell save Holly Lodge before it’s too late?

Tom has loved Nell since he met her but is too afraid of ruining their friendship to reveal his feelings. However, when a chain hotel moves into their small town and threatens Nell’s beloved Holly Lodge, Tom is ready to fight alongside Nell to keep her business afloat.

I love the relationship between Nell and Tom as well as the other relationships in the story. Nell is a kind and determined woman, and Tom is dependable and loyal. Their relationship is lovely, and they complement each other well. Strong friendships and supportive community relationships are also highlighted in the novel, and I love the depiction of strong women throughout the book.

I also enjoyed the festive Christmas atmosphere among the stress and intensity of weddings and personal and professional turmoil. It is an interesting juxtaposition, as the jovial and light atmosphere stands in stark contrast to the issues that Nell and Tom face.

Readers who like heartwarming, small-town, contemporary romance set during the Christmas season will enjoy Katie Ginger’s final novel in the Swallowtail Bay series. Though it’s the third in the series, it can be read as a stand-alone. Thanks so much to Netgalley and HQ Digital for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The romance, of course! Nell and Tom had a wonderful romance!
  • The setting! Small-town during the Christmas season – yes, please!

Recommendations:

This is a great story (and series) for readers who enjoy contemporary rom-coms, women’s fiction, or romance.

6 thoughts on “ARC Review: Winter Wishes at Swallowtail Bay by Katie Ginger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s