ARC Review: The Truth About Dukes by Grace Burrowes

Title: The Truth About Dukes

Author: Grace Burrowes

Series: Rogues to Riches (Book 5)

Page Length: 400

Publication Date: Nov. 5, 2020

Publisher: Piatkus

Synopsis: Robert Rothmere is hiding a past no duke should have endured, but he’s not hiding it well enough. Sooner or later, his enemies will learn that he spent years locked away at a private asylum. To get their hands on his wealth, they’ll try to send him right back to his worst nightmares. If Robert is to foil their schemes, he needs to marry a perfectly proper, blessedly boring, deadly dull duchess, immediately—and he knows exactly which quietly delightful lady he’d love to entrust with that role.

Lady Constance Wentworth has cultivated a reputation for utter forgettability. She never speaks out of turn (in public), never has a daring thought (that she admits aloud), and never comes close to courting scandal… as far as anybody knows. Her path crossed Robert’s years ago, though, and she’s never forgotten the extraordinary lengths he traveled to keep her safe when she hadn’t a friend in the world. She longs to be his demure duchess…but little does he know that to marry her would be utter madness.

LINKS:     Goodreads     |      Amazon     |     Book Depository


My Review:

The Truth About Dukes is the story of two outcasts who find love under the harsh scrutiny and judgment of society. Constance is a woman who likes to blend in. A woman who happily fades into the background with her plain dress and mundane demeanor, Constance holds some secrets close to her heart, never to be discussed with anyone else. That is until she reconnects with Robert Rothmere.

Rothmere suffers from epilepsy, or “the falling sickness,” and is very much judged for it. Institutionalized and maltreated by a questionable doctor, Rothmere is a recluse who struggles with his fears and the expectations of society. Neither really feels like they fit in until they meet each other.

The connection between Constance and Rothmere, which extends back to their teen years when both were in vulnerable and horrifying situations, is strong. Though neither is overtly demonstrative in front of others, their affection and desire for each other are clear. I love how they love each other, and their unconditional support is wonderful. Both characters have a lot of inner turmoil and outward obstacles to overcome, and their respect, admiration, and staunch support of each other through it all is lovely.

The story touches upon serious issues and handles them with honesty. Epilepsy, familial abuse, PTSD, legal battles, and unplanned pregnancies weigh on Constance and Rothmere, and it’s interesting (and horrifying) to see how these situations and struggles were handled in the past. I was shocked at how many people prejudged Rothmere and Constance and acted on greed, jealousy, and entitlement.

The Truth About Dukes is an interesting historical romance with unique characters and strong messages about love, life, and tolerance. Though this is the fifth book in the series, it can totally be read as a standalone. Thanks so much to Netgalley and Forever for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The romance. Robert and Constance have a deep and strong connection.
  • The siblings. The couple both have loving and supportive siblings, and I’m thinking several may be the focus of future stories.

Recommendations:

Readers who enjoy historical romance with well-developed characters and and interesting plot will enjoy the story. I also think this will appeal to readers who enjoy authors like Eloisa James, Mary Balogh, and Julia Quinn will like this series!

7 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Truth About Dukes by Grace Burrowes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s