Book Review: A Consuming Love by Kelly Miller

About the Book:

Title: A Consuming Love

Author: Kelly Miller

Page Length: 105

Publication Date: Feb. 10, 2021

Publisher: Meryton Press

Synopsis:The methodical world of rich, proud Fitzwilliam Darcy is in chaos: a country lady of modest origins has utterly captivated him.

The knowledge that Elizabeth Bennet is an unsuitable match fails to diminish Darcy’s fascination for her, nor does his self-imposed distance from the lady hinder her ability to intrude upon his thoughts at all hours of the day. What can solve his dilemma?

When circumstances compel Darcy’s return to Hertfordshire in assistance of his friend Mr. Bingley, he must confront his unfathomable attraction to Miss Elizabeth.

In this “Pride & Prejudice” Regency novella, one afternoon spent in company with Miss Elizabeth Bennet is enough to make an indelible and life-altering impression upon Darcy, setting him on a rocky course towards the fulfillment of his desires. Will Darcy attain happiness, or will his ingrained pride be his downfall? 

LINKS:     Goodreads    |      Amazon   

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


My Review:

What if, in Pride and Prejudice, Darcy had met Elizabeth before the Meryton Assembly? What if they had met under better circumstances? Would things have gone differently? In Kelly Miller’s A Consuming Love, a reimagining of Jane Austen’s classic, this is exactly what happens.

I’m a fan of Pride and Prejudice, but I have never read a retelling before. This is a charming variation of the story, authentic in characterization while offering an alternate plot. The story follows Darcy and begins as he and Bingley visit Netherfield for the first time. It is here where he meets Elizabeth, who assists her father in telling them about the property. Darcy is instantly enthralled by Elizabeth and can’t stop thinking about her even after he returns to London. Pulled back to Hertfordshire, Darcy must confront his feelings for Elizabeth and hope they are reciprocated.

The story is told from Darcy’s point of view, and I enjoyed this switch in perspectives. It offers so much insight into his reserved and composed character and shows just how deep his feelings run. This story made me love him even more. He is a good man, honorable and sincere if a bit arrogant at times. Darcy is a dynamically developed character who grows and changes so much throughout the story, and knowing his thoughts and the meaning behind some of his words and actions offers a fresh perspective on his character.

I love Darcy’s relationship with his sister Georgiana and that it had a large role in the story. This was one of my favorite parts of the book. Georgiana is lovely, and she is such a support to Darcy even though she struggles with her own inner conflicts. They have a wonderful bond, as does the Bennett family, and I like that this is highlighted throughout the plot. The author captured the essence of the characters so well and really brought them to life.

Of course, my favorite part of the story was the romance. Similar to the original story, Darcy and Elizabeth both have strong feelings for each other. However, they face several challenges including miscommunication, meddlesome family members and friends, other interested parties, and more. I love how Elizabeth stands up for herself and her beliefs and how Darcy listens to and reflects on her assertions.

A Consuming Love is a charming and engaging story that I enjoyed reading. I think readers who like Pride and Prejudice or who like clean historical romances, will definitely appreciate it. Thanks so much to Kelly Miller for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The romance! Darcy and Elizabeth have a wonderful love story!
  • Georgiana.

Recommendations:

This is a lovely story for readers who like quick and charming historical romance.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: A Consuming Love by Kelly Miller

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s