Book Review: Sense and Second Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

About the Book:

Title: Sense and Second Degree Murder

Author: Tirzah Price

Series: Jane Austen Murder Mystery #2

Page Length: 416

Publication Date: April 5, 2022

Publisher: HarperCollins

Synopsis: Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three-book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy and Stalking Jack the Ripper. In Sense and Second-Degree Murder, aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood and her sister Marianne, a budding detective, work together to solve the mystery of their father’s murder.

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery that points to foul play, and the killer might be family.

Obviously, the girls must investigate. It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.

LINKS:   Goodreads   |    Amazon   |  Book Depository

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


My Review:

Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility gets a murder mystery makeover that is perfect for fans of the original story.  I love how the author stays true to the character’s personalities while presenting a new and fresh plot that still has elements of the original story. 

The Dashwood sisters are fantastic, and the author does a great job in creating layered and compelling young women with feminist ideal, determination, and intellect. They are so different from the typical women in their social circle, and they have hopes and dreams that extend beyond balls, marriage, and motherhood. Elinor is an aspiring scientist, and Marianne wants to follow in her father’s detective footsteps. Each goes through their own trials and tribulations, yet they work together to find out what really happened to their beloved father.  They each use their strengths to help solve the mystery, and they work together so well. 

The mystery is intriguing and has many twists and turns, which I enjoyed.  It is such a fresh twist on the original story, and I like how the author still included important events that occurred in Sense and Sensibility while adding a whole new plot that is unique.  I thought mystery and sleuthing complemented the original piece well. 

The plot also includes two fantastic romances that you will recognize from the original story.  Though the mystery is the focus of the novel, I enjoyed the love stories just as much.  I also appreciated the messages about following your dreams, trusting your instincts, and supporting those you love. 

Although this is the second book in the series, it is a standalone, and if you’re looking for a fresh twist on a classic novel, you should definitely check it out.  Special thanks to Edelweiss and Harper Collins for providing me with a copy of the book. All thoughts are my own.


Rating:

Favorite Parts:

  • The mystery.
  • The sisters.
  • The messages.

Recommendations:

Fans of Jane Austen retellings will love this unique and fun read!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Sense and Second Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s