Book Review: The King Will Kill You by Sarah Henning

About the Book:

Title: The King Will Kill You

Author: Sarah Henning

Series: Kingdoms of Sand and Sky #3

Page Length: 368

Publication Date: Aug. 2, 2022

Publisher: Tor Teen

Synopsis: The epic tale concludes with The King Will Kill You, as the newly-crowned Queen Amarande and Luca, her one true love, seek peace among the Kingdoms of Sand and Sky. Wartorn and regicidal, all five kingdoms must confront the power-mad king determined to seize control of the continent–and kill Amarande and Luca in the process.

Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Adrienne Young will love this kickass heroine and fast-paced fantasy adventure inspired by The Princess Bride.

LINKS:   Goodreads   |    Amazon   |  Book Depository

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.


My Review:

The King Will Kill You is an entertaining and exciting conclusion to the Kingdoms of Sand and Sky trilogy. One of the strengths of the novel and the series is the vivid worldbuilding. The author’s writing immerses you into the story and creates such a clear picture of this unique and dynamic world. The battle scenes are also epic and suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat for much of the story.

Like the first two books, Amarande and Luca go on physical as well as emotional journeys throughout this story. Both characters are layered and well-developed, and I became invested in their stories. Amarande proves to be a strong and brave leader whose character exposes gender inequities and the fight for autonomy and equality. She fights against the patriarchy in an attempt to invoke change that promotes equality, These messages feel particularly relatable considering what’s going on in the world today. The story also highlights Luca’s growth as he becomes a leader of his people and gains more confidence in his capabilities as a ruler.

My favorite part of the story is the romance between Amarande and Luca. They both go through so much over the course of the series, yet their feelings for each other never waver. They are so devoted to each other, and their feelings for each other shine through in every decision and action they make. Unlike the other books, Amarande and Luca are together for a lot of the book, and they have many sweet and tender moments together.

This is an entertaining series, and The King Will Kill You is an exciting and satisfying conclusion. I did think the politics occasionally overshadowed other parts of the story, but the underhanded maneuvering, the numerous love stories (love this!!), epic world-building, and powerful and relevant messages more than made up for the few tedious scenes. I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoy young adult fantasy, and I’m thankful to Tor Teen and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of the book. All thoughts are my own.


Rating:

5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars

Favorite Parts:

  • The romance.
  • The political intrigue.
  • The world-building.

Favorite Line:

I have loved you more years than I can remember. I will love you for the rest of the ones I have left.

Recommendations:

I would recommend reading the first two books in the trilogy before jumping into this one. It’s not a standalone. Also, I’d suggest checking the content warnings before starting the book and series because there are elements that could be triggering for readers.

One thought on “Book Review: The King Will Kill You by Sarah Henning

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s