Blog Tour Review: The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr

I’m happy to be part of The Resistance Girl blog tour. It is an engrossing story of love, heart-break, secrets, and redemption that I recommend to readers who enjoy historical fiction set during World War II.


Synopsis:

Two women. One heartbreaking secret.

Paris, 1943.

Sylvie Martone is the star of French cinema, adored by fans and on the good side of the Nazi officers who swarm the streets of Paris. Chosen as one of Goebbels’ select few, she is torn between her duty to her country and her desire to survive.

As she walks the city arm in arm with an SS Officer, her fellow Parisians begin to turn against her. But Sylvie has a secret – one she must protect with her life.

Paris, 2020.

Juliana Chastain doesn’t know anything about her family history. While her mother was alive she remained very secretive about her past.

So when Juliana discovers a photograph of a glamorous French actress from World War Two amongst her mother’s possessions, she is in shock to find herself looking at her grandmother – especailly as she is arm in arm with a Nazi Officer…

Desperate for answers, Juliana is determined to trace the journey of her grandmother. Surely there is more to the photograph than meets the eye?

But as she delves into Sylvie’s past, nothing can prepare Juliane for the tales of secrets, betrayal and sacrifice which she will uncover.

A heart-wrenching story of love and redemption, perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff and Suzanne Goldring.

Purchase Link – https://buff.ly/3dHGHqQ


About the Author:

Jina Bacarr is a US-based historical romance author of over 10 previous books. She has been a screenwriter, journalist and news reporter, but now writes full-time and lives in LA. Jina’s novels have been sold in 9 territories.

Social Media Links:

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/JinaBacarrNewsletter

Website: https://jinabacarr.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JinaBacarr.author

Twitter @ https://twitter.com/JinaBacarr

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jinabacarr/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/LadydeGrey/videos?view_as=subscriber

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jbacarr

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jina-bacarr

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/50392.Jina_Bacarr

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jinabacarr/

https://bookandmainbites.com/JinaBacarr


My Review:

The Resistance Girl is a fascinating piece of historical fiction about one woman’s search for truth. When Juliana discovers a mysterious photo among her mother’s possessions, she is immediately intrigued. Is the beautiful and glamourous woman on the arm of a Nazi officer her grandmother? Could this be part of the reason that Juliana doesn’t know much about her family’s secretive past? Determined to uncover the truth, Juliana decides to travel to France to learn more about her Maman’s life.

Alternating between the past and the present, Juliana and Sylvie’s stories slowly unfold. A young girl who dreams of fame, Sylvie travels to Paris and seeks fame as an actress. She leads a successful career in film before the war, and then uses her fame to get closer to the Nazi’s and learn their secrets. Condemned as a Nazi collaborator, Sylvie’s life is irrevocably changed.

After Juliana, a successful costume designer, finds the alarming pictures of Sylvie with Nazis, she determines to learn more about her grandmother. What does Juliana really know about her grandmother? Was she a Nazi sympathizer, or was there more to her complicated past? The more Juliana digs into the mystery, the more she must reevaluate all she knows about her family. The dual narratives work so well in this story and serve to highlight the growth and character development of both Sylvie and Juliana.

An intricately woven story with an interesting plot, the novel is both heart-breaking and heart-warming. I enjoyed learning more about Sylvie’s past and the complexities of war. This is a woman who grew up in a convent and became a famous film star. She lived a glamorous life in the spot-light until war hit. Sylvie is faced with many obstacles and moral decisions, and her journey is fascinating. Hated by many and seen as a traitor, Sylvie is so much more than she seems, and she is quite underestimated.

A story of love, bravery, secrets, and family, The Resistance Girl is a moving piece of WWII historical fiction with dual narratives and fascinating characters. Thanks so much to the author, Boldwood Books, and Rachel’s Random Resources for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Rating:

Recommendations:

Readers who enjoy historical fiction set during World War II will enjoy this book as will people who like to read stories with dual narratives from different time periods.

11 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr

  1. Thank you for this lovely review of The Resistance Girl! I’m heartened to hear you found Sylvie’s journey fascinating… I strive to make every detail correct while also letting you into Sylvie’s head… and her heart and why she does the things she does…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s