ARC Review: Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer

Title: Crownchasers

Author: Rebecca Coffindaffer

Series: Crownchasers (Book 1)

Page Length: 384

Publication Date: Sept. 29, 2020

Publisher: Harper Teen

Synopsis: A deadly competition for the throne will determine more than just the fate of the empire in this riveting duology opener, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns.

Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy. Her mother sacrificed everything to bring peace to the quadrant, and her uncle has successfully ruled as emperor for decades. But the last thing Alyssa wants is to follow in their footsteps as the next in line for the throne. Why would she choose to be trapped in a palace when she could be having wild adventures exploring a thousand-and-one planets in her own ship?

But when Alyssa’s uncle becomes gravely ill, his dying wish surprises the entire galaxy. Instead of naming her as his successor, he calls for a crownchase, the first in seven centuries. Representatives from each of the empire’s prime families—including Alyssa—are thrown into a race to find the royal seal, which has been hidden somewhere in the empire. The first to find the seal wins the throne.

Alyssa’s experience as an explorer makes her the favorite to win the crown she never wanted. And though she doesn’t want to be empress, her duty to her uncle compels her to participate in this one last epic adventure. But when the chase turns deadly, it’s clear that more than just the fate of the empire is at stake. Alyssa is on her most important quest yet—and only time will tell if she’ll survive it.

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links, including Amazon, and I may earn a small commission, at no cost to you, if you purchase through my links.

LINKS:     Goodreads     |      Amazon     |     Book Depository


My Review:

A fun and gripping YA sci-fi novel with heart-pounding action and compelling characters, Crownchasers follows Alyssa Farshot as she competes in a dangerous game for the throne. There are so many levels to this story. At a basic level, it’s a space race for the throne. However, the story is also about what it takes to be a good leader. It examines values and morals, what people are willing to do or sacrifice for those they love, the lengths people go to for power, as well as the power of friendship, grief, love, and loss. And at the heart of it all is Alyssa.

Alyssa is an exceptional protagonist. Finding herself as she grudgingly participates in the competition, Alyssa is smart, astute, vulgar, and fierce. I love her sass and independent spirit. As the only relative of the reigning emperor, Alyssa knows she must eventually face the responsibilities of her station. However, she has wanderlust and longs to travel the universe. The Crownchase is Alyssa’s chance for adventure before she fulfills her familial expectations.

Alyssa is also really funny, though she often uses sarcasm to avoid her feelings, especially when dealing with her love life. Her witty banter with friends and foes lightened some tense situations and exacerbated others. Alyssa is a good person who can be selfish and selfless at the same time, but, above all, she is loyal and true. People tend to gravitate toward her because of her empathetic, interested, and adventurous personality.

The other characters in the story are equally interesting and well-developed, and, as the characters explore the universe, there is also an exploration of their relationships. I found this aspect of the story really interesting since the relationships are complex and universal. There’s a young woman taking steps toward independence, there is a blossoming relationship with the pair afraid to reveal their deep feelings, there are trustworthy and untrustworthy friendships, and there are frenemies whose intentions are unclear. All of the relationships are intricately woven, fascinating, and universal.

An epic sci-fi odyssey that’s a cross between The Amazing Race, Aurora Rising, and The Hunger Games, Crownchasers gripped me from beginning to end. I loved the immersive story, the sci-fi setting, the intense competition, the dynamic characters, and the poignant messages. Plus, there’s the romance and that ending!! Amazing!!

Thanks so much to Netgalley and Harper Teen for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.


Rating:

Favorite Lines:

Anything looks harmless and pretty if you’re far enough away.

I’m not like Charlie, polished and respectable. And I’m not like Enkindler Wythe, happily needling his way deeper and deeper into politics. I flew out of here once, trying to shake the weight of the kingship and the throne and everything that came with it. But I didn’t fly far enough.

She laughs and it’s like a bell calling people to worship.

They might… like him more. He wanted that once, a long time ago when he was young and they’d all seemed like bright, vibrant suns that he’d circled endlessly, always at a distance, never allowed to get close enough to discover if he had a light of his own to cast.

“Sure, Mega,” Faye says, and I check the floor to make sure all the sarcasm dripping off her words hasn’t made a pool around her feet.

Recommendations:

I recommend Crownchasers to everyone!!! lol It’s such a great read, and I think people who enjoy YA sci-fi will love it!!

9 thoughts on “ARC Review: Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer

  1. Oh wow! When I saw you reviewed this book, I was curious to see what you thought. But, I never expected it to be this good. Not sure why. But, I’ll have to check it out sooner rather than later! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m looking forward to this book so much, and this review makes me even more excited! So many have said that Alyssa is such a great character, so I’m excited to meet her!! I think it’s important for authors to realistically depict good leaders and what it takes if they’re having this political intrigue in their books, because it’s not easy to rule and decide what’s best for one’s people. It takes a strong character with good moral principles and a unique personality, so again, I’m excited to see how Alyssa will be portrayed!! Science fiction comedy — I need it nowwwwwww. Again, wonderful review 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! Alyssa is a fantastic protagonist! Complex with so much depth. And she swears more than me! lol I totally agree about what it takes to be a good leader, and though Alyssa is a bit young and impulsive at times, she has so many good qualities, and she cares about others. I hope you get to read the story soon and enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

      Like

  3. Okay, this wasn’t really on my radar but after reading this review I’m definitely adding it to my TBR. It sounds like such a fun and action-packed story with some great complex characters 😍 I also really love this quote: “She laughs and it’s like a bell calling people to worship.” Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s